top of page
Search

Review of Nikon D3000

Updated: Jan 16, 2019

My first DSLR. What was your first camera?



Everyone starts out with a crappy camera. Most photographers I know started out with a point and shoot, or a really (and I mean really) old DSLR. I think that experiencing that difficulty with our tools gave us the realization that this is what we love. We also love our really expensive cameras because we know how hard it is to work with crap tools!


 

“We also love our really expensive cameras...”


 

My first camera was a crappy point and shoot that belonged to my parents. I honestly cannot even find that camera today. My next camera was a GE X400 - BK X400 Blak 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD. It was tiny compared to my camera now! Compared to today's standards the image quality was very low. There's not really any lenses for this camera so I had one lens. It was a General Electric camera so for a company that focused on kitchen appliances, this camera might have been the best they could do.

But for Christmas my Sophmore year, my mother got me my first Nikon DSLR. A Nikon D3000. It was used so it was a little old, but I cried when I saw it. I had worked with what I had to make my little photographer dreams a reality and the fact that I'd have a camera that was like my peers was overwhelming. So, before I upgrade, let me give you a quick review of the Nikon D3000.



Quick Rundown


The Nikon D3000 is a sturdy little camera. It lasted me about five years after being used for I don't know how long. And it's not like I couldn't use it still, I could, I just can get a new one.

It's a crop sensor camera so it's not really very great for night photography. Make sure you always have plenty of light.

There isn't really a way to shoot back button so don't try it.

It's an AF-S DX so if you have an AF-P DX lens (a lense type more common now) you can't use it.

The focus is a little annoying to figure out and it doens't like to focus on an entire group of people so if you really want to do family and wedding photos for your career, you'll want a different camera.

It is however, a great camera to do headhsots, portraits, and fine art with cause it can capture detail really well when it's close up.

Basically this camera is just getting old and not really the best for a professional photographer! But if you're getting your student a camera for high school photography, they'll do well with this camera because it is very user friendly and still takes good photos. As long as you have plenty of light and it's not being asked to focus on a big group of people!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page