top of page
Search

The Feeling of Photography

Updated: Jan 16, 2019

How do you explain why you take photos of certain places?



I like to take photos that tell stories. I want my photos to make you stop and think. I want you to see these photos and realize that real people lived before you and real people will live after you and your life is unique only because of what you do with it. I recently took photos with the idea of capturing this strange nostalgia and this article is how I felt while doing it and why I want to share it with you all so badly!


 

“I like to take photos that tell stories."


 

I took photos at the Idaho State Pen and areas in Archer, Idaho. I want people to get that feeling of awe and realization that these places will outlast us. I want people to see that what people build nature can destroy and also save. As I was going around and photographing I realized that I have never been able to articulate much why taking interesting photos matters to me or why I do it. So, this project was my project to help me understand why I love photography and why I love sharing it!


My Realization


I love to take photos that are more than what we see and include what we feel. As I take photos I hope for a full experience. I went to a museum once where a woman had projected her photographs on the inside of a rotating cylinder. You had to step up and look into the hole to see her photos. She also had strange music playing and you just sort of felt like you had thrown yourself into this crazy surreal experience.

I'm not necessarily aiming for that, but I am aiming for a full body and full senses experience. One day, my work will be in museums. For now I will be satisfied if I can bring out complex emotions in my viewers. Emotions like awe, wonder, peace, nostalgia, curiostity and the like.

For me, I take photographs because I love to imprint things on my soul. I love to take photos of things that I can never forget. I want to see these old buildings in my minds eye, I want my dreams to use them for locations. Taking photos matters to me because it's my way to show others my imagination and my emotions.

I took photos of these abandoned and empty places to create awe in myself and to see ghosts of the past and feel time slow. I want to share them with you to give you a part of me that will never die. Because even though one day all thes buildings will disappear, how I saw them will not and I find that incredible.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page