top of page
Search

When You're Losing Your Creative Juice

Updated: Dec 4, 2019

What to do when you feel like you have no more ideas



Lately I've been... struggling. It's been a pain to arrange a shoot and do the editing and really, it's been a pain to come up with ideas. I keep getting headaches, I have a ton of stress from school... and honeslty I'm sure a lot of you can relate. So, how do I still take photos and how do I keep going? I shoot random things.


 

“I've been struggling... I'm sure a lot of you can relate."


 

I feel like a lot of people just nodded their heads. And honestly, it's a really basic answer. Go out and shoot whatever. And shoot just because. Honestly, you may not even ever edit those photos, but just go shoot to help get those creative juices flowing again. It's hard to constantly expect great ideas from yourself and honestly sometimes your brain just needs a break. Don't think, just take a photo.


That Doesn't Work


Honestly, for some people that might not work. So here are some other things I do when I feel like the creativity just isn't there.

1. Ask a friend if they want their photo taken. Almost all of them will probably say yes. Take their photos and then do some fun cool editing stuff on their photos. Just have fun with it and relax about getting the photos out on time or anything like that.

2. Set up a still life shot. Take control of everything. If you're one of those people that loves to just shoot candid, it may help you because you're in charge and get to physically create something.

3. Take a self portrait. This is the hardest one. But sometimes, taking this specific photo can reveal to you how you're feeling and help you get through the slump because you're actually looking at yourself and your emotions.

I hope one of these tips helps you and gets you pumped again!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page